Six Collegiate Water Ski Athletes Selected To 2016 U.S. World University Water Ski Team

POLK CITY, Fla. ­- The National Collegiate Water Ski Association has selected six athletes to represent the U.S. World University Water Ski Team at the 2016 FISU World University Water Ski Championships, Sept. 6-11, in Akita, Japan. The team was selected following the 2016 U.S. World University Water Ski Team Trials, May 13-14, at Borderline Lake in Blaine, Wash.

Athletes selected to the team were: Louisiana-Lafayette’s Brittany Greenwood (Little Rock, Ark.), Alabama’s Sam Greenwood (Little Rock, Ark.), Rollins College’s Erika Lang (Gilbert, Ariz.), Louisiana-Lafayette’s Dane Mechler (Loveland, Ohio), Florida Southern College’s Lauren Morgan (Odessa, Fla.) and Louisiana-Lafayette’s Dylan Schaffer (Owens Cross Roads, Ala.).

Selected as alternates were: Florida Southern College’s Ellie Horton (Lakeland, Fla.), Western Washington’s Jaye Morris (San Diego, Calif.), Alabama’s Jenna Morgan (Odessa, Fla.) and Alabama’s Eloise Whitlock (Richmond, Va.).

Jeff Rush (Clovis, Calif.) is the team captain and Terry Goodman (Lynden, Wash.) is the coach.

The U.S. Team has won every University Worlds (1997, 1999, 2002, 2004, 2009 and 2012) to date.